Loading

GO is a
community-curated open studio project.

Jun 14

I’m having trouble…changing my username or display name.

To register for GO, artists are required to provide a full name and choose a username. Artist groups are required to provide a group name as well as the full name of the official GO liaison. How do you change your full name or your group name once you’ve registered?

If you registered as an individual artist, follow these instructions to edit your name:

1. Login to the GO artist portal.

2. Navigate to “Hi, [your username]” on the upper right hand corner of the page. Select SETTINGS from the drop-down list.

3. On the SETTINGS page, you can edit your name and choose whether to display your full name to visitors. If you choose not to display your full name on your profile, visitors will see your username instead. Click SAVE when you’ve finished making changes.

If you registered as an artist group, follow these instructions to edit your name, the name of your group, and the names for your group members:

1. Login to the GO artist portal.

2. Navigate to “Hi, [your username]” on the upper right hand corner of the page. Select SETTINGS from the drop-down list.

3. On the SETTINGS page, you can edit your name and your group name. Your group name will be displayed automatically on your artist profile. Click SAVE when you’ve finished making changes.

4. To add members to the group or edit the names of group members, find the GROUP MEMBERS header in the column on the left page of your profile preview. Click EDIT. 

A new window will enable you to add and edit names. Don’t forget to add your name to the list!

What if you want to change your username?

You’re stuck with the username you chose when you registered for GO. If you don’t like your username, follow instructions above to share your display name rather than your username on your profile. However, remember that the username is used to generate your GO profile website (http://www.gobrooklynart.org/studio/yourusername).

If you REALLY don’t like your username, you’ll need to delete your account and register again using the correct name. Keep in mind that it takes time to purge your information from the system, so you’ll need to wait 24 hours before you can create your new registration.